Another Vacation Post

Matthew G. Saroff
2 min readApr 4, 2022

--

First a bit more detail on yesterday, we went to New York City, took the PATH train in from New Jersey, because we are staying at an AirBnB in Teaneck, and driving into New York is just kind of nuts.

We hit the Drama Book Shop and The Strand Bookstore and then went to meet up with a friend of Nat’s in the West Village.

Along the way, we were walking down the street, and I glanced over, and saw that I was right in front of The Stonewall Inn which got Nat’s LGBTQ history geek on.

We also had some exquisite Thai cuisine at Tue Thai. (New York has the most consistently good food scene in the nation)

Today, we were celebrating the wedding of my niece Zahava Gersten to Binyamin Majowka. (No pictures, because I post enough politics here that I do not want to do not have specific permission, you can probably find some of Facebook)

The bride was beautiful, and the groom was handsome, and they adore each other.

The fact that we were at their wedding means that they were not following my first piece of advice on weddings and marriage, which is that one should elope.

I did give them another piece of advice, something that I give to every bride and groom, which is to understand that the first year is about them as a couple, before children, or career, or anything else, and they need to treasure this time.

It was a bit weird though, they got married in the same event hall as Sharon* and I, and Zahava was in attendance at our wedding, albeit in her mom’s (Sharon’s* sister) womb.

The passage of time is weird.

*Love of my life, light of the cosmos, she who must be obeyed, my wife.

--

--